Call our Sales Team on 0208 912 2120

Strict User Applied to Extra "A" Lorry

18th April 1958, Page 39
18th April 1958
Page 39
Page 39, 18th April 1958 — Strict User Applied to Extra "A" Lorry
Noticed an error?
If you've noticed an error in this article please click here to report it so we can fix it.

Which of the following most accurately describes the problem?

Keywords : Business / Finance

THE tendency to regard the declaration of normal user on an A licence as strict conditions similar. to those attached to B licences, was again illustrated at Wrexham on Tuesday. The North Western Deputy Licensing Authority, Mr. J. R. Lindsay, granted an additional vehicle on A licence to Catherall Bros.,Buckley, Flintshire, after an objection by the British Transport Commission had been withdrawn on the understanding that the normal user would be strictly adhered to.

Mr. J. Edward Jones, for the applieants, said their fleet consisted of 11 vehicles, seven on contract A licences, three on A licences and one on B licence. Although temporary substitution worked within limits, the problem of major overhauls was difficult. There had been four serious breakdowns in the past 12 months, as a result of which vehicles were off the road at least a month.

The applicants were asking to add .1 vehicle with a normal user, "to be used only in substitution for any vehicle which has been temporarily withdrawn for overhaul or repair. The goods to be carried shall be restricted to those authorized for that vehicle."

Gross earnings of the fleet in the past financial year amounted to £27.222.

Questioned by Mr. G. H. P. Beames, for the B.T.C., Mr. R. E. Catherall said he used a Maudslay of 4 tons 8 cwt. unladen for temporary replacement, and this was the vehicle it was proposed to license. He would give an assurance that it would not be employed for any other purpose.

MORE R.H.A. ELECTIONS THE following elections in the West 1 Midland Area of the Road Haulage Association were announced on Wednesday:— Birmingham Sub-area: Chairman, Mr. Bernard

Withers; vice-chairmen, Mr. Neely, J . nr. and Mr.

T. Weatherhogg; secretary, Mr, F. Withers. T. Weatherhogg; secretary, Mr, F. Withers.

Worcester Sub-area: Chairman, Mr. G. Lamb; vice-chairman, Mr. T.. J. Lambe; honorary secretary, Mr. G. E. R. Dash.

Dudley Sob-areal Chairman, Mr. J. Walsh: vicechairman, Mr. N. Cartwright; secretary, Mr. G. Pugh.

Walsall and Cannock Sob-area: Chairman, Mr. J. Hayward; vice-chairman, Mr. I. Holland; secretary, Mr. L. Hyde.

Potteries Sub-area: Chairman, Mr. F.. B. Ellis; vim-chairman. Mr. D. H, Dale.

Shropshire Sub-area: Chairman, Mr. G. D. James; vice-chairman: Mr. C. F. Paddock; secretary, Mr. W. G. Hill.

West Bromwich Sub-area: Chairman. Mr. S. P. Chambers; vice-chairman, Mr. F. G. S. Hodson: secretary. Mr. N. Kershaw.

Wolverhampton Sub-area: Chairman. Mr. J. W. Butcher: vice-chairman, Mr. R. Martin; secretary. Mr. R. J. Beridows.

Coventry, Rugby and North Warwickshire Subarea: Chairman. Mr. G. Braithwaite; vice-chairman, Mr. F.. Shortland; honorary secretary. Mr. J. W. Morley.

Leamington. Warwick and Stratford-on-Avon Sub-area: Chairman. Mr. F. C. King Smith; vicechairman, Mr. C. Knight; honorary secretary, Mr. W. A. Weatherbead.

Hereford Sub-area: Chairman. Mr. H. L. Robinson; vice-chairman, Mr. A. Bartup; honorary secretary, Mr. H. Jones.

Area livestock Functional Group Committee: Chairman, Mr. E. Pritchard; vice-chairman, Mr. R. Marsh: secretary. Mr. J. Parnell.

Area afBk Functional Group Committee: Chairman, Mr. J. W. Richardson; vice-chairman, Mr. J. H. James: secretary. Mr. 3. Parnell.

Area Tippiag Vehicles Functional Group Committee: Chairman. Mr. G. Jackson; vice-chairman. Mr. N. Cartwright.

comments powered by Disqus