Call our Sales Team on 0208 912 2120

Marines on form

10th July 1970, Page 21
10th July 1970
Page 21
Page 21, 10th July 1970 — Marines on form
Noticed an error?
If you've noticed an error in this article please click here to report it so we can fix it.

Which of the following most accurately describes the problem?



• Twenty-six Shell-Mex and BP drivers are now eligible to compete at the LDoY national finals at Bramcote on September 6, the latest to qualify being Hove's A. Burtenshaw, the overall winner at Portsmouth on Saturday.

The Pompey contest completed the rounds for 1970; it was well organized by the Royal Marines whose entrants also put in a good performance. Sgt D. Lewis won Class D and Sgt Chatfield was runner-up; Sgt Edwards, the Class E winner, also turned in the best performance in the manoeuvring tests.

RESULTS Rigid vehicles

Class A: up to 20ft and over 1 ton unladen : 1, LT. Phesse (PO Telephones) Morris, 88 points; 2. L Briars (Robert Taubman and Son Ltd) Bedford, 95 points: 3, D. L. Balcom (PO, Portsmouth) Morris. 114 points.

Class B: over 20ft to 24ft: 1, Sgt. D. Lewis (Royal Marines) Bedford. 61 points: 2. Sgt. F. Chatfield (Royal Marines) Bedford, 63 points: 3, R. Gray (Harris (East Leigh) Ltd) Ford, 88 points.

Class C: over 24ft to 28ft: 1, J. C. Beames

(Schweppes Ltd, Fareham) Bedford, 105 points: 2, D. Martin (Botley Flower Mills Ltd) Ford, 118 points; 3, L Gardiner I Rank Xerox Ltd) Ford, 125 points.

Class D: over 28ft: 1. R. Plested IBRS Ltd) Albion, 81 points; 2, A. Tynan (Shell-Mex and BP Ltd. Hamble) Guy, 90 points; 3, R. F. Breach IC. Shippam Ltd, Chichester) Bedford, 115 points.


Class E: flat or sided, flat or drop-frame, up to 33ft: 1, Sgt. C. Edwards (Royal Marines) Bedford, 148 points; 2, R. J. Wright IHM Dockyard, Portsmouth) Bedford, 159 points; 3, L J. Rowse!! (Brickwoods Ltd) Bedford, 173 points.

Class F: box or tank to 33ft: 1, A. H. Burtenshaw (Shell-Max and BP Ltd. Hove) AEC. 128 points: 2, D. J. Anderton (NCI Ltd. Brighton) Bedford, 219 points: 3, R. H. W. Millburn (Shell-Max and BP Ltd, Hamble) Scammell. 241 points.

Class G: flat or sided, flat or drop-frame, over 33ft: 1, H. W. Hawkins (Schweppes Lid) Bedford, 137 points; 2. G. W. Hutchings (BRS Ltd) AGC. 240 points: 3. W. Spratt (Ministry of Public Building and Works) Bedford, 245 points.

Class H: box or tank over 33ft: 1, A. Crute (A. Packham and Co Ltd) Ford. 110 points: 2. J. Hallett (Esso Petroleum Co Ltd, Portslade) Leyland, 116 points: 3. F. Grindley (Texaco. Portslade) AEC, 168 points.

Overall winner: A. H. Burtenshaw Team award: Royal Marines.