Call our Sales Team on 0208 912 2120

Queen rewards road transport

21st June 1990, Page 8
21st June 1990
Page 8
Page 8, 21st June 1990 — Queen rewards road transport
Noticed an error?
If you've noticed an error in this article please click here to report it so we can fix it.

Which of the following most accurately describes the problem?

• The road transport industry received many accolades in this week's Queen's Birthday Honours list, with an OBE going to Freight Transport Association president and Tibbett and Britten director Tony Stanton. Former chief executive and managing director of Merseyside Transport Gwynfor Thomas was also awarded an OBE, while Steve Abel, group managing director of BRS, received an MBE.

An MBE was given to Foden Trucks senior marketing programme and project manager John Kearton. Barbara Castle, former transport minister, was given a life peerage.

Further OBEs go to Roy Godler, plant manager at Ford, Bridgend; Charles Veys, international group chief medical adviser, Michelin Tyres, and Charles Mitchell, chairman and managing director, Century Oils Group. Christian Salvesen's deputy chairman Barry Sealey was awarded the CBE.

MBEs were also given to Alastair Atkin, industry and environment co-ordinator, Conoco; Dennis Bareham, Essex county officer of the Agricultural and Allied Workers' National Trade Group, Transport and General Workers' Union; Charles Burford, assistant county surveyor, waste disposal, Lancashire County Council; Colin Clark, road safety officer, London Borough of Croydon; Trevor Baxter, organiser and chairman, Gloucestershire Village Community Bus Service; John Edwards, manager, product evaluation centre, GKN Technology; Alfred Keen, operations manager, London Regional Transport; Valerie Lang, vice-chairman, Spastics' Society for services to disabled persons' transport; Rene Liron, secretary, Jersey Transport and General Workers' Union; Vincent McConnell, former area manager, Automobile Association, Northern Ireland; Raymond Rivett, credit controller, Perkins Engines; Marjorie Rosenthal, executive officer, Department of Transport, Associated British Ports managing director Charles Bradley received the CBE and Bob Reid, chairman and chief executive of Shell (UK) was made a KB.

comments powered by Disqus