Call our Sales Team on 0208 912 2120

RHA chairman named in New Year honours

4th January 1990
Page 6
Page 6, 4th January 1990 — RHA chairman named in New Year honours
Noticed an error?
If you've noticed an error in this article please click here to report it so we can fix it.

Which of the following most accurately describes the problem?

• Roy Bowles, Road Haulage Association chairman and managing director of Roy Bowles Transport, is among road transport figures to be included in the New Year's Honours list: he was awarded the OBE.

Philip Critchley, director of contracts of the Highway Administration and Maintenance division of the Department of Transport, becomes a Companion of the Bath.

Euan Macfarlane, vicepresident, UK of Cummins Engines, and Gerald Garside, former director of the National Audit Office, get CBEs.

OBEs go to Vincent Heaney, retired regional manager of Northern Ireland Carriers; Frank Hill, retired clerk of the Eastern Traffic Area Licensing Authority; James Porter, director of Michelin Tyres, and Patricia Steel, secretary of the Institution of Highways and Transportation.

New MBEs include: Ronald Birt, chief designer at Marshall of Cambridge (engineering); Thomas Campbell, chief engineer of Citybus, Northern Ireland; Ian Cunningham, retired managing director of Bournemouth Transport; Frederick Evans, divisional engineer (motorways) of Warwickshire County Council; Albert Ley, already a BEM medal holder and member of the Disabled Person's Transport Advisory Committee; Ronald McGregor, traffic assistant of Caledonian MacBrayne; Stanley Nicholls, senior professional and technology officer at the Department of Transport; Paul Oppenheimer, regulations and standards manager of Lucas Automotive; and Anthony Shaw, head of London Regional Transport's unit for disabled passengers.

comments powered by Disqus