Call our Sales Team on 0208 912 2120

Best in the business

5th May 1994, Page 13
5th May 1994
Page 13
Page 13, 5th May 1994 — Best in the business
Noticed an error?
If you've noticed an error in this article please click here to report it so we can fix it.

Which of the following most accurately describes the problem?

Truckfest's top award is the Commercial Motor Trophy for Britain's Best Kept Working Truck— and this year's winner is Jamie Neaverson from Peterborough-based family firm A Neaverson & Sons with his Mercedes-Benz 111 4. "It's taken me three years to win this," he said. "Working Truck" means just that: the 1114 turned up at Truckfest loaded with dog kennels for delivery to the police after the event. Owner-driver Dale Grange of Warboys, Combs was runner up with his Jamie Weaversan: "It's taken Renault Magnum and in three years to win this."

third place was Adrian

Austin from RT KeedwelI of Highbridge, Somerset. Craig Potter's Scania 143 picked up a number of prizes including Continental Truck of the Year. Potter, 25, set up his nine-truck business in Trowbridge, Wilts more than years ago. His G-reg truck, Ice Warrior, carries a striking livery of snow covered mountains and a white tiger. Colin Tomlin from BAC Windows of Romford, Essex came second with his Ivaco Ford 190,32; in third place was John Powers of John Powers

Transport with his MAN 26.502. Best Kept Fleet was won by own-account chemicals operator Blagden Packaging from Bristol with four Scanias and a Volvo Fb. In second place was Marley Transport from Burton on Trent with two Volvo Fl 2s and two ERE El 4s. Third placed was Crowsons of Leicester with an all-Scania fleet.

Custom Truck of the Year was won by PG & MK Osborne with a Volvo F16 which works on general haulage. Craig Potter took second place; Nick Standerwick from Warren Haulage collected third prize for his Scania 113 380, Rolling Thunder. David Armstrong from WM Armstrong in Carlisle collected -first prize for Best Vintage and Restored Commercial Vehicle for his 1919 Model T Ford. Graham Calvin from Cumbria collected second prize for his 1941 Coma 04; third was Alec Boyes, also from Carlisle, with his 1136 Volvo.

Best Kept Owner Driver Vehicle was won by Dale Grange's Renault Magnum which he uses on container work. Craig Potter was back on the podium in second place; so was Dave Crowson who come third.

Having scooped the top award it came as no surprise that Jamie Neaverson's Merc was also voted Best Kept Rigid. PJ Transport of Bourne, Lincs came second with a Leyland Dal Roadrunner and Michael Dauncey of M&L Transport came third with his MercedesBenz 814.

Best Company Owned Vehicle was won by Adrian Austin of RI Keedwell from Highbridge, Somerset with his Seddon Atkinson Strati:). Richard Dawson from PG & MK Osborne picked up second prize with his Volvo F16; John Miles from Blagden Packaging come third with his Scania 113 Topliner.

Barry Shipp of DE Shipp from Mildenhall, Suffolk won Best L-Reg Truck with his Renault Magnum 520; Warren Haulage was second with its Sconia 113.380. Anthony Trapmore from Craven Transport of Wispington, Lints was third with his Scania 143.420. The International Supertruck Challenge was won by Denise Laventure (Scenic), followed by Belgian Andre Magisson (Mack). Jan Tibble (Peterbilt) and Dutchman Fred de Boer (Scania) were joint third.

comments powered by Disqus