Call our Sales Team on 0208 912 2120

Historic Commercial Vehicle Club rally at Brighton

11th May 1973, Page 55
11th May 1973
Page 55
Page 55, 11th May 1973 — Historic Commercial Vehicle Club rally at Brighton
Noticed an error?
If you've noticed an error in this article please click here to report it so we can fix it.

Which of the following most accurately describes the problem?

Three awards for outright winner


Class winners were: — Outright concours d'elegance, Mr J. P. Jordan, Northampton, 1928 1-ton Morris Commercial shooting brake. Runner-up, HMS Sultan, the Royal Navy Marine Engineering Establishment, Gosport, with the late entry of a steam wagon. The winner was awarded the National Benzoic challenge cup and the second, the Old Motor Magazine Challenge Trophy.

The Commercial Motor Challenge Cup for vans and lorries under 30cwt went to Mr C. F. South, Diss, Norfolk, with an entry of a Rover 12 light delivery van built in 1912; second was Mr B. E. Wilson with a 1929 Morris ice cream van; third Mr K. J. Senior, 1928 Morris Commercial 1-ton van.

Motor Transport Challenge Cup: Mr K. Taylor, St. Helier, Jersey, 1931 30-cwt Chevrolet LT; second, Mr R. Horton, Brierley Hill, 1936 Diamond T truck, third, Mr D. A. Thomas, Ladre Ltd, 1913 I.acre 2-ton box van.

Modern Transport Challenge Cup: Southdown Motor Services Ltd, 1922 Leyland G7; second, Mr M. J. Bonfield, Denmark Hill, 1922 AEC S-type 54-seat coach; third, Mr S. P. Milner for Lincolnshire Vintage Vehicle Society, 1927 Leyland Lion PLSC 1.

Transport World Challenge Cup for steam wagons: Late entry from HMS Sultan, RN

Marine Engineering, Gosport; second J. W. Hardwick Ltd, West Ewell, 1928 6-ton Foden; third Tate and Lyle Ltd, Wandsworth, 1922 Foden C-type box wagon.

Commercial Vehicles Challenge Cup for fire engines: Mr K. L. Senior, 1913 Commer; Mr J. Pettifor, Fleet, 1938 Leyland; Wessex Fire Engine Society, 1938 Leyland Cub pump /escape.

Ian Allan Buses illustrated Trophy: Mr J. P. Jordan, 1928 Morris Commercial 1-ton shooting brake; second was a late entry of which no details were available; third Mr G. Lomb, Huddersfield, 1938 Guy Wolf.

Brighton Trophy for London-type taxis: Mr F. Toovey, Pinner, 1938 Austin Laudaulette; second Mr P. Hermon, Redbourne, 1937 Austin LL; third was a late entry with no details.

The Dennis Challenge Trophy for Municipal vehicles: London Ambulance Service, 1933 Talbot AY95-type ambulance.

Military Challenge Cup for military vehicles was won by a late entry for which there were no details; second Mr P. J. Passey, Newbury, 1939 Austin K2 ambulance; third Mr P. Gray, Worthing, 1944 DUKW amphibian.

Paul A. Adorian Challenge Cup for tractors, articulated, breakdown and towing vehicles: Mr J. W. Hardwick, 1931 Foden timber tractor; second E. J. Baker Motors Ltd, Aldershot, 1935 Bedford WB 30cwt truck; third late entry without details (this entry won the best Ford award).

The Bedford Challenge Bowl for the best Bedford award went to E. J. Baker Motors Ltd, for its 1935 30cwt truck; British Leyland Truck Challenge Trophy for the best truck or fire engine went to Mr P. J. Passey for his Austin ambulance (second in the military vehicle class); the Veteran Commercial Vehicle Trophy for the best vehicle built before 1920 to Mr D. A. Thomas for his Lacre boxvan (second in Motor Transport Challenge Cup); Tate and Lyle Challenge Trophy for the best vehicle built between 1920 and 1930 to Mr J. P. Jordan (winner of the Modern Transport Challenge Cup); Charles W. Bonfield Challenge Trophy for the best restoration during the year by a club member of limited means to Mr R. L. Scard, Ash Vale, for his 1933 Foden 84; John Fielder Challenge Cup for the vehicle travelling the furthest distance to the run under its own power to Mr 1. IvicKerracher, Stirling, (late entry no details); and the Brighton Festival cup for the best vehicle from Sussex to Mr V. E. Brewster, 1922 Ford Model T van.

comments powered by Disqus